African Achievers Awards ceremony was recently held in Nairobi. The Awards recognise achievements in Community development, Leadership, Entrepreneurship, Sports, Entertainment, Education, etc.

The theme for this year’s ceremony was “The Future is Africa”.

The late Prof. Atta Mills, former President of Ghana won a Posthumous Award for Excellence in Leadership. The Ghana High Commissioner to Kenya received his Award on his behalf.

Dr. Rilwanu Lukman won the Life Time Achievement Award. He is an engineer who held several ministerial positions in the Nigerian Federal Government before becoming Secretary General of OPEC (Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries) from 1st January 1995 to 31st December 2000. He is the longest serving African to hold that position.

Dr. Lukman was made a Knight of the British Empire (KBE) in 1989 and Officer of the Legion d’Honneur of France in 1990. He was also conferred with the First Class rank of the Order of the Liberator from the Republic of Venezuela.

Dr. Lukman was the first African ever to be honoured with the Fellowship of the Imperial College.

Dr. Margaret Blick Kigozi, commonly known as Dr. Maggie Kigozi, won the Special Recognition Award for Excellence. She is a Ugandan medical doctor, business consultant, Chancellor of Nkumba University, Associate Professor of Economics at Makerere University, Chief Scout of the Uganda Scouts Association, and Director of the Board of Uganda Export Promotion Board.

Dr. Kigozi is also the founder of Uganda Investment Authority Women Entrepreneurs Network, Focal Point Officer for the Africa Asia Business Forum, Patron Ugandan Diaspora Network, and Member of the Board of Directors, Crown Beverages Limited – the manufacturers and distributors of Pepsi-Cola in Uganda.

Currently she works as a consultant at United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO).

Dr. Kigozi formerly served as the Executive Director of the Uganda Investment Authority from 1999 to 2011.

Sir Chukwuemeka Ihedioha, the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives of Nigeria won the Award for Leadership and Good Governance.

Mrs. Divine Ndhlukula won the African Woman of the Year Award. She was named one of the most successful women in Africa by Forbes and recently named the ‘Queen of the security industry in Zimbabwe’ by BBC World.

Mrs. Ndhlukula is the Zimbabwe National Chamber of Commerce (ZNCC) Harare Chairperson.

Sir Celestine Omehia, former Governor of Rivers State; Dr Ken Kwaku, former World Bank MIGA Director for Africa and former Adviser to the President of Tanzania won the Awards for Excellence in International Corporate Governance.

Hon. Eng. Walter Mzembi, the Minister of Tourism and Hospitality Industry of Zimbabwe won the African Achievers Special Recognition Award (Tourism Excellence). Mr. Mzembi has been an achiever of note, not only in his native Zimbabwe, but also in the African region, and indeed, on the international scene.

The hosts for the 2013 African Achievers Awards were Savahna Nightingale and Bob Manuel Udokwu. Savahna is a Broadcaster, Columnist and Director of Sashkeys Media who has produced documentaries and programming for a range of broadcasters including C4 and Five, Sky, as well as various ethnic media channels in the UK and Africa.

Savahna is a freelance producer/presenter for BBC World Service News having worked with “World Have Your Say” and “Focus On Africa”.

Bob is a leading and pioneer Nollywood actor. He is now a Senior Special Adviser to the Anambra State Governor.

Other recipients of African Achievers Awards

Dr. Sam Agbogun – Special Recognition Award
Dr. Aisha Suleiman Achimugu – African Fast Growing Entrepreneur of the Year
Chief Albert Ime Akpan – Leadership in Global Ascendancy
Dr. Bolaji Abdullahi – African Sports Bureaucrat of the Year
Mr. Tawand Nyabirai – Excellence in Enterprise
Dr. Alyster Soyede – Award for Excellence in Diaspora.
Dr Ken Kwaku:  Excellence in International Corporate Governance
Anel de Swardt-Strydom – African Girl Child Role Model
Ke Foundation – Charity Organisation of the Year
Uweza Aid Foundation – Charity Organisation Making a Difference
Anas Aremeyaw – Journalist of the Year
Livewell Suites South Africa – Organisation Making a Difference in Africa
Marthina Isabella Van Der Merwe – African Achievers Recognition Award
Abdikadir Aden Hassan – African Young Achiever
SafariCOm Kenya – African Telecommunication organisation of the Year
Mallam Nuhu Ribadu – Anti-corruption Icon of the Year
Bob Manuel Obidinma Udokwu – Special Recognition Award